CMA Ainaheim Express MX: Round 4


Madera Fairgrounds

CMA Anaheim Express MX: Round 4

Story & Photos by Eddie Graveline




The California Motorcycle Association turned to the Madera Fairgrounds for round 4 of the Anaheim Express motocross series. For the local racers, it was a chance to get familiar with one of their favorite tracks again. Due to the absence of lights at the facility, the track isnít normally used for racing in the summer because high temperatures necessitate night racing. The track itself features some of the best dirt in the state and whatís usually a tight, supercross style layout. Riders were thrown a curve, though, as the CMA track builders had completely changed the course and opened it up considerably. From the onset of practice, it was obvious that the changes were popular.

It doesnít always take big bikes to create big excitement. It seems like 65cc riders can jump just about anything that big bike novices do and the 9-11-year-old Beginner class was putting on a good show. The top three riders were the same in both motos, but none of them finished in the same position twice. In race one, KTM rider Jordin Collins put in a very solid effort, edging Bruce Mau and Justin Jones. Jones got a better start the second time out, however, and was able to win the final moto in-class. Collins and Mau finished second and third respectively. After a little bit of moto math, Collins was declared the winner with his 1-2 showing. Jones rebounded for second by winning the final race and Mau was third with a 2-3 effort.

That trio squared off in the 9-11-year-old Open division as well, but they had Novice class winner JD Elliott to deal with. Elliott rode off on his own and swept both motos, while the other three mixed it up with each other again. The first moto was a tight one and it was Jones, Collins and Mau finishing second through third in that order. Jones matched his first moto performance in the second, but both Mau and Collins had crashes and fell out of contention.

There were a lot of Vet and OT class riders in Madera and several of them rode alongside each other in a multi-class moto format. In the OT Novice class, Hanfordís Craig Heredia had a good outing. Riding his Clawson Motorsports/Thunder Alley Honda, the #991 rider won both motos over Sam Furlin. Showing additional grit, he even threw himself into the 250cc Novice mix, riding against a field made up mostly of kids half his age. As if that wasnít enough track time for a guy over the age of 40, Heredia entered the +30 X class where he finished third.

Other notables included Steve Nelson, who came back from hiatus to run unopposed in the 250 Pro class. Despite the lack of competition in his own class, he ran alongside the Novice and Intermediate divisions, where none of the other riders were able to match his lap times. If he just wanted to make sure he still had it, mission accomplished.





50 1st Timer: 1. Bryce Snell; 2. Courtney Theisen (Yam); 3. Zack Arnbrister (KTM).

50 Beg: 1. Tristan Marseilles (KTM); 2. Blaine Silveira (KTM); 3. Chance Souza (Pol); 4. Hayden Lusk (KTM); 5. Devin Hallier.

50 Nov: 1. Luke Gruetzmacher (KTM).

50 5-6 Open: 1. Chance Souza (Pol); 2. Jacob Hess (Hon).

50 7-8 Open: 1. Luke Gruetzmacher (KTM); 2. Tristan Marseilles (KTM); 3. Bryce Snell; 4. Devin Hallier.

Outlaw 9-12: 1. Tommy Stevens (Pol); 2. Cliff Hess (Yam).

65 5-8 Beg: 1. Tyler Hjortland (KTM); 2. Tristan Marseilles (KTM); 3. Luke Gruetzmacher (KTM).

65 9-11 Beg: 1. Jordin Collins (KTM); 2. Justin Jones (KTM); 3. Bruce Mau (Suz); 4. Devon Cunningham (Kaw); 5. Cody Dennis (Kaw).

65 Nov: 1. JD Elliott (KTM); 2. Austin Burmeister (Suz); 3. Miles Daniele (Suz); 4. Gye Walter (KTM); 5. Tommy Stevens (Suz).

65 5-8 Open: 1. Tyler Hjortland (KTM); 2. Luke Gruetzmacher (KTM); 3. Tristan Marseilles (KTM).

65 9-11 Open: 1. JD Elliott (KTM); 2. Justin Jones (KTM); 3. Jordin Collins (KTM); 4. Bruce Mau (Suz).

65 X: 1. Austin Burmeister (Suz); 2. Gye Walter (KTM); 3. Miles Daniele (Suz); 4. Tyler Hjortland (KTM); 5. Justin Jones (KTM).

85 Beg: 1. Michael Furlin (Suz); 2. Jacob Blair (Yam); 3. Anthony Macera (Suz); 4. JD Elliott (Yam); 5. Taylor McCullough (Yam).

85 Nov: 1. Jordan Collins (Hon); 2. Jake Hjortland (Yam); 3. Jeffery Bier (Yam); 4. Ryan Worth (Yam).

85 5-11 Open: 1. Taylor McCullough (Yam).

85 12-16 Open: 1. Topher Ingalls (Yam); 2. Jordan Collins (Hon); 3. Jake Hjortland (Yam); 4. Brent Wilson (Hon); 5. Christian Cumings (Yam).

85 X: 1. Jordan Collins (Hon); 2. Ryan Worth (Yam); 3. Anthony Macera (Suz); 4. Jeffrey Bier (Yam); 5. Anthony Joy (Yam).

4-Stroke Youth: 1. Justin Cornelison (Hon); 2. Cliff Hess (Yam).

125 Beg: 1. Mike Basile (Yam); 2. Nick Marmolejo (Hon); 3. Ted Bergen (Hon); 4. Brian Silva (Hon); 5. James Reyes (Yam).

125 Beg (2): 1. Luke Cardoza (Yam); 2. Anthony Macera (Suz); 3. Jordan McCullough (Hon); 4. Ryan Theisen (Hon); 5. Kevin Hamilton (Hon).

125 Nov: 1. Dylan Tolmasoff (Kaw); 2. Kyle Hogan (Hon); 3. Kris Bunch (Suz); 4. Kyle Orth (Yam); 5. Nathan Francis (Hon).

125 Int: 1. Eric Ralls (Yam); 2. Kevin Wells (Hon); 3. Ryan Leebelt (Yam).

125 Youth: 1. Richard Harmon (Suz); 2. Adam Hughes (Suz).

250 Beg: 1. Ryan Theisen (Hon); 2. Bill Bryant (Hon); 3. Eddie Graveline (Hon); 4. Jordan Henry (KTM); 5. Luke Cardoza (Kaw).

250 Nov: 1. Kyle Hogan (Hon); 2. Allen Woodward (Hon); 3. John Hoffman (Yam); 4. Corey Jordan (Hon); 5. Nathan Francis (Hon).

250 Int: 1. Eric Ralls (Yam); 2. Kevin Wells (Hon).

250 Pro: 1. Steve Nelson (Hon).

29 & Under Open: 1. Kris Bunch (Suz).

Vet Beg: 1. Nathan Hayes (Hon); 2. Tim Wilson (Hon).

Vet Nov: 1. Joel Colegrove (Yam); 2. Jeff Theisen (Hon); 3. Jason McCullough (Yam); 4. Bryan Popoff (Hon); 5. Eddie Graveline (Hon).

Vet Int: 1. Aaron Arnbrister (Hon); 2. Rick Steiner (Hon).

Vet Pro: 1. Chicken Brewer (Hon).

OT Nov: 1. Craig Heredia (Hon); 2. Sam Furlin (Suz).

OT Int: 1. Mark Hawkins (Yam).

Women: 1. Brenda Burson (Kaw).

+30 X: 1. Chicken Brewer (Hon); 2. Rick Steiner (Hon); 3. Craig Heredia (Hon).

Sportsman X: 1. Dylan Tolmasoff (Kaw); 2. Nathan Francis (Hon); 3. Mike Basile (Yam).


[Home] [Back]

2004 SX Tickets and Schedule

Archived Interviews

Swag Reviews

AOL Help


MotoPress logo designed by:

This site was designed, programmed and is maintained by:
Copyright © 2001-2003 MotoPress
/ Syndicate 559. All rights reserved.